A pleasure to meet you


Ben Whitelaw

My name is Ben Whitelaw and I am the young man behind the alias, ‘The Student’. I will be embarking on the Newspaper MA at City University come September and cannot wait to learn about the gory details of the journalism industry.

As sickeningly clichéd as it sounds, I always knew journalism was the profession I wanted to work within and a job as a reporter (ideally in sport) has subsequently been my goal since I was young. I’ve tried to do as much work experience as possible and have managed to spend time at The Guardian and The Sunday Times where I was recommended the City course by the managing editor.

From that point onwards I realised that City was where I wanted to study and to learn about journalism. I guess that it is this longstanding desire which has led me to be given the nickname ‘The Student’ over my fellow student bloggers on this fair site.

My interest in journalism grew during my time as Sports editor of the University of Birmingham’s newspaper and I am now at a point where I require the skills – particularly shorthand and media law – to allow me to report on local news accurately and effectively. From my point of view, this blog will chronicle my efforts in getting to grips with these challenges as well as any stints of work experience I undertake.

If nothing else, we hope that the blog engages a few readers, informs the current debate and, above all, provides an insight into just a few of the ways to get into a fascinating and ever-changing industry.

About benwhitelaw
Ben is Communities Editor at The Times

One Response to A pleasure to meet you

  1. Ben Edwards says:

    Good shit Benji.. nice to see you are really passionate about all this journalism malarkey

    just a shame you support Leeds

Leave a Reply

